TASER Laws and Restrictions by State
As an Authorized TASER Dealer, the Department of Self Defense team is always up to date on the latest laws, restrictions, rules and regulations for TASER stun guns and self defense products.
Please contact our Customer Service Team with any questions regarding TASER laws in your state.
TASER weapons are legal to sell and own in 45 states and Puerto Rico with little to no restrictions. They are currently banned from civilian ownership in Washington DC, Hawaii, Rhode Island, Massachusetts, New York, and New Jersey. Most states require the purchaser be at least 18 years old with the exception of Arizona and Minnesota which restrict sales to purchasers under 19 years old.
Illinois, Maryland, and Minnesota require background checks be completed prior to sale. Department of Self Defense will reach out to secure your information to complete the required background checks once your order is received.
States with restrictions on use and possession include:
Connecticut- Restricted to in-home use.
Delaware- Permit is required for concealed carry.
Illinois- Legal only with FOIC and use is limited to on premises, business, or invitation.
New Mexico- Permit required for concealed carry unless on own premises or personal vehicle.
North Carolina- No concealed carry permitted outside of own premises.